Hi guys - Novice seeking advice!!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Christkd

Hi Guys and Girls,

I'm Chris and I'm 37 from Southampton. I've only been cycling since September 2010 and along with 5 others are doing LEJOG during the Easter holidays this year!
I did my first long ride (70 miles) just before new year and did ok but suffered from cramp in my hamstrings after around 45 miles! I've been practicing Taekwon Do for 18 years so have kept a reasonable level of fitness but never any endurance type fitness hence the cramps!
Has anybody got any advice to stop the cramps? Has anybody suffered the same way and what did you do to combat it?

Any advice greatly appreciated and I'll look forward to chatting with you all soon!

Chris

ttcycle

Cycling Excusiast
Bloody he'll Chris that's quite an undertaking! Good luck and enjoy it! The cramps may well be down to several factors, one important thing is to make sure you have enough fluids and enough salt replaced from what you've lost. Make sure you eat a healthy diet with a good mix of protein, carbs and healthy fats. You don't have very long to train so try not to overdo it with the training. Welcome to the forum! There's a subsection for touring and LEJOG questions appear there all the time.

Norm

Indeed.

I use tablets because it's easy to drop in one every time I fill the bottle. They cost about 20p-30p each, which isn't the cheapest way of doing it (I think powders are cheaper) but they are incredibly convenient to take with you on a ride, and they are way less than the price of Lucozade Sport or whatever.

GM

Legendary Member
:welcome: Chris. I'm also going to try LeJog later on this year, but as for cramps I don't think you can beat a couple of bananas and a bottle of tonic water. Good luck!

OP
OP
C

Christkd

Thanks alot guys, it is a bit of an undertaking I know but I'm pretty determined!