Hills on a recumbent

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

arallsopp

Post of The Year 2009 winner
I've tackled a fair number of hills on my 'bents.

£ for lb, a 'bent is likely to weigh more than a comparatively priced upright, so physics alone will dictate that lugging it up hills is harder than a 'normal' bike. Harder doesn't make it prohibitive, of course. For me, hills come at two speeds.

1. Momentum powered rocket ship. Top gear, burst up, hit the top before I run out of oomph (surprisingly effective)
2. Winching myself up on the cranks. Bottom gear, overtaken by snails, ladybirds, etc...

You'd think after 7 years I'd have developed a better technique, but all I'm really doing is holding onto approach one for longer.

After the first 6 months, I found my legs had adapted and I could climb better on the 'bent than I'd ever done on an upright.

Last edited:

classic33

Leg End Member
I’m no expert [at anything] but with regards to the balance question! I have seen a program about mountain unicycling, if they can go up hill on 1 wheel you should manage on 2.

how do they manage this? Practice, and there centre of mass is high which means they fall over more slowly.
Practice

paul fellows

An Automatic Constant Load Variable Transition for Bikes

ACLVT

The idea is that you are speeding along at a pedalling load that is right for you. As the road gets steeper, the force needed to turn the pedals stays the same as the gear ratio changes smoothly.

To make this work will require a belt and pulley drive, rather than chain drive.

Any interest?

classic33

Leg End Member

ACLVT

The idea is that you are speeding along at a pedalling load that is right for you. As the road gets steeper, the force needed to turn the pedals stays the same as the gear ratio changes smoothly.

To make this work will require a belt and pulley drive, rather than chain drive.

Any interest?
What does it cost and what are its limitations?

Encephrich