Hills ...

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Brusgaard

Über Guru
It's got a trainer tyre on. I'm not confident enough to swap it out for its proper tyre. Don't forget I'm a mere beginner!

If you are using a Bkool (Pro) trainer, you'll go a lot faster with a real tyre instead of a trainer one! I wouldn't recommend using the same tyre indoor as well as outdoor however.

Here in Denmark you'll pick up a lot of small flintstones, and you will have a puncture pretty fast, if you don't remove them ALL, before using it on a trainer. The heat generated on a trainer will make the tyre compound softer, and it will then be easier for the stones to dig the last millimeter into the tube.

Last edited:
OP
OP
Sjw

Sjw

If you are using a Bkool (Pro) trainer, you'll go a lot faster with a real tyre instead of a trainer one!

Even a nobbly mountain bike one? I read its noisier and rips the tyre to shreds. I'm not picking a fight, I'm genuinely wanting to know stuff. I'm enjoying bkool and generally farting about with it

Brusgaard

Über Guru
Even a nobbly mountain bike one? I read its noisier and rips the tyre to shreds. I'm not picking a fight, I'm genuinely wanting to know stuff. I'm enjoying bkool and generally farting about with it

NO! A nobby MTB tyre would be horrible to ride on a wheel-on trainer! But I guess a non-nobby MTB tyre would make you faster.
On a race bike, using a hard pumped (to the max) worn tyre will give you an easy 20-40 watt extra compared to a trainer tyre. I use some old used Vredestein Fortezza Senso Xtreme Weather on my Bkool, and they work great. Best of all, they don't wear a much as some of my older softer tires, and there is almost no tyre "dust" on the floor. I guess those are made of a really hard compound, hence the "Extreme Weather" designation, and are able to withstand (flint)stones better than most, and also the heat from the trainer-roller.

Last edited:

nickAKA

Über Member
More gentle slopes.