Holdsworth Bike Query

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Mmmike

Hello!

I've recently bought a Holdsworth bike that I'm trying to get some more information on. I'm a complete newbie to the cycling world and after looking at old eBay ads for info would say this bike is from the 80s? (Not sure whether that makes it right for the 'classics/vintage' section?).

It reads Holdsworth Professional on the frame. As far as I can tell the 531 frame is rather common for bikes of this age?

The bike is in good condition. A few minor marks to the under of the frame but generally pretty clean.

Any additional info/opinions you could provide would be useful. What sort of money is it worth before I think about spending money on fresh tyres?

Thanks
M

Attachments

• 20170219_163441.jpg
    20170219_163441.jpg
    179.2 KB · Views: 89
  • 20170219_163438.jpg
    20170219_163438.jpg
    150.4 KB · Views: 95

mjr

Comfy armchair to one person & a plank to the next
It looks quite 80s and yes, that puts it in classic/vintage, especially with downtube shifters and the like.

Look at the wheel hubs for two-digit date codes and if you've been looking at ebay ads (especially sold and completed ones), then you've more idea of its value than me :smile: I can two similar ones, one of which sold for £150 and the other for £80.

531 is common but that's because it's quite nice. How does it ride? If you like it, I'd say it's worth spending money. If they're 27x1¼" wheels (32-630), then Schwalbe HS-159 are pretty good for the money. :bicycle:

S-Express

Not the 80s - appears to be more like mid/late 90s. A pic from the other 'correct' side would help ID the groupset. 531 tubing if not common, is usually a sign of a decent build quality. Appears to have had very little use, if the rims are anything to go by.

OP
OP
M

Mmmike