How to "Off Road" my Dahon?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Andy Davies

Hey All

I am pretty new to this cycling thing, and even more new to the folding cycle thing!

Basically I have a Dahon Vitesse D7 which I aimed to use to aid my commute, basically cutting out the walk I have todo in London (20-30 mins ish) when I get off the train, but am still finding my feet on London roads. Driving in London is bad enough, so why I decided to cycle, not so sure!

I have been using it a lot more at home where I live in Essex, but am finding that most of the places I want to use it are probably not suitable for the road tyres that it came with. Mainly I want to use it in Country parks etc. to help me get used to the bike before I start using it on the dreaded commute.

I am guessing that the tyres it came with are ok but not really for off road use. I am not talking massive muddy hills, more flat/bumpyish occassionally muddy grass type of stuff. Nothing too heavy. But am not sure if this bike is suitable? I love the fact I can throw it (literally speaking) in the car and head off somewhere but am worried about damaging it.

Any ideas or advice you can offer?

I searched through previous posts and saw someone recommended "Scwalbe Marathons" for this type of thing, but when I checked out wiggle.co.uk there were loads of Marathons and I didn't have a clue...

As I said, any advice appreciated!

Cheers

Andy

Pale Rider

Legendary Member
Small-wheeled bikes tend to be skittish on anything other than hard asphalt, so I don't think changing the tyres will make a lot of difference.

In terms of getting confidence on two wheels in London, have you tried Boris bikes?

They are big and sturdy and have a commanding riding position which may help you get to grips with London traffic.

OP
OP
Andy Davies

Andy Davies

Oh ok thanks, not much hope then?