HR after exercise

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

JamesJeffery

Been exercising for 2 weeks, cycling (obviously), today I did 35 miles. I am a little worried as my HR is taking a while to drop to its normal rate. It is dropping, but slowly.

I'm a web developer, so before this I didn't really do much exercise. Am I working myself to hard?

Will my recovery rate improve over time?

Thanks.

Some figures needed. Is it dropping by 30 beats or more within a minute of stopping excercise?

OP
OP
J

JamesJeffery

Crackle said:
Some figures needed. Is it dropping by 30 beats or more within a minute of stopping excercise?

Not sure. It was around 170 during the ride. I think it went to 150ish, then started dropping slowly.

Do some reading around, for instance this, which tells you about what to expect in terms of drop after excercise. If it's really not dropping much after you finish then go see your doc but in general it takes a while for your HR to return to a normal level but you should see a drop of 20 - 30 beats or more in the first minute and this should improve as you get fitter. I find CV fitness takes me 3 or 4 weeks to attain from zero.

Fab Foodie

hanging-on in quiet desperation ...
If you're starting from zero and doing 35 miles after 2 weeks, then you're working yourself quite hard for a newbie. Make sure you start the first few miles at a gentle pace to warm the system up gently, likewise wind-down at the end of your ride, taking the last few miles slowly.
Agree with Cackle even regular cyclists who take a few weeks break take a bit of time to get the system flowing at its best.
Build-up gradually and in a few more weeks you'll be much improved!

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
If fit, just stopping at a set of traffic lights will have the HR rate drop significantly.....