Hurting arms

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Jillmarie

I’m still fairly new to biking ~ I started in early April, I ride 2 to 3 times a week and I average about 10 miles ~ my question is why do my arms hurt really bad after I ride?

Cycleops

Legendary Member
Likely due to your posture on the bike. What model of bike is it? Sounds like you might have too much weight on your arms.
If you can post a pic of you on the bike that would be helpful, if you can’t due to being new post a link to a photo sharing site.

BTW welcome to the forum.

vickster

Legendary Member
Are your arms bent or straight when riding?
What sort of bike is it? What sort of handlebar grips or tape?

simongt

Guru
And what sort of handlebars; straights, butterfly or drops - ? If they're straights, then little opportunity to move your hands & arms around which will compound the issue. :dry:

Sharky

Guru
Hi Jill and welcome to the forum. I don't think there will be a single or simple solution to aching arms. I still get aching arms and I wouldn't put myself into a fairly new group. Particularly after a break in cycling due to weather or illness etc, but after a few weeks, the strength returns and the aches dissappear.

You're only a month in to cycling, so give it a bit more time.

Happy cycling

Once a Wheeler

…always a wheeler

OP
OP
J

Jillmarie

Are your arms bent or straight when riding?
What sort of bike is it? What sort of handlebar grips or tape?
I have a Rove “Liv 3” and yes, my arms are straight with a very little bend ~ my handlebar have just the hand placement that came with the bike ~ what do you mean by grips or tape? I know I do not have tape on the handlebar ~

OP
OP
J

Jillmarie

And what sort of handlebars; straights, butterfly or drops - ? If they're straights, then little opportunity to move your hands & arms around which will compound the issue. :dry: