Hybrid to road bike

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Amac

Hi guys,
well this is my first time here, just stumbled across you all, as I was doing some research :smile:

So a bit of background to my questions:
Currently, my wife and I cycle during the summer, and go walking in the winter.
We both ride hybrids, just leisure cycling, 25-30 miles, and we always stop somewhere for a picnic.

I have just retired (I am 60, in case that affects the answers), just before the damn virus!!
I am looking to buy a a road bike, to go out with the mid week CTC group who describe themselves as a moderate group (so I need to get a bit fitter ha ha)
So I can ride a bit more, go a bit further, and fr the social side as well.

So I want to buy from a local bike shop, and prior to all this I did a first visit to all the shops, we are lucky we have:
AW cycles
Berkshire cycles
Evans
Cycle republic
Halfords

After chatting to them all in general terms, AW Cycles seem to be be cyclists, and they offer a "fitting" service

So at last my question:
A fitting service offered with all new bikes seems a sensible idea.......or do you think that a good bike shop can correctly size you from looking at you sat on a bike?

The bikes I am looking at:
Giant Contender SL 2 Disc
Giant Contender SL 1 rim braked
Whyte Dorset
Prehaps, not sure...Bianchi Via Nirone sora
If I do not buy from them:
Orbea H40

So, I thought I would pop over, and see what you guys thought, as my experience is a bit limited.....
Cheers Alex

Cycleops

Legendary Member
Hello Amac and welcome to the forum.
Can’t comment on the specific models you mentioned except to say you should go with discs. I would strongly suggest you go with your local shop, if anything goes wrong or you need support you’ll appreciate their help. The bike fit will pay dividends in terms of comfort so well worth having.
Cycle Republic are no more but was part of Halfords which has a rather hit and miss reputation.