I am a beginner, feeling nervous to get started.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

bpr96

Hi,

I can't remember the last time I hopped on a bike, due to running causing a lot of stress on my body I have decided I want to get started with cycling.

My main fear is my balance, I feel like I can get going but then I worry about when I need to stop, I imagine I am going to brake and then fall off to one side or another and cause myself injury.

An additional point to that is falling off my bike in a dangerous area, and generally just the overall embarrassment of falling off my bike.

There is a lot of skills that I need to learn to confidently ride a bike but I am very nervous to get started, any tips on how to deal with this? I do have a few parks around my area I have been considering going over there for the first few rides, if that scenario occurs that I do fall off, at least it will be in a safer area.

What do you think? thanks all :smile:

Dan77

Don't worry, you'll be fine. It's just like riding a bike (there's a reason for that phrase).

Practicing in a park to build confidence is a good idea.

Oldhippy

Cynical idealist
As Dan77 says you'll be fine. Park is a good idea to get your skills honed. Don't over think it most importantly.

annedonnelly

Girl from the North Country
If it makes you more comfortable drop the seat low enough so that you can easily reach the ground with your feet. You'll need to put it back up when you're more confident, but lower will be fine to get you started.

And as for embarassment - who cares? At least if someone smiles at your antics you've brightened their day & we all need a bit of that at the minute.

Welcome, by the way.:hello:

Archie_tect

De Skieven Architek... aka Penfold + Horace