I don't know if it's physics, psychology or just daft me

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I've often wondered why, after grunting my way up a steep hill, the last stages near the top often seem to slacken off even though the hills can show no perceptible change in angle.

Looking at some of the data from my heart rate monitor and garmin, it looks on some climbs, like my heart rate drops before I reach the peak of the hill.

Is it possible I just stress myself out when climbing hills so the relief of seeing the top causes the drop, is something else going on with the way my forerunner measures height or have I just made an idiot of myself yet again?

palinurus

Velo, boulot, dodo
It's probably because the hill gets less steep near the top. There may be no perceptible change in angle, but I find I'm not very good at estimating steepness by eye (except when it comes to that bastard hill out of Harlech I went up once- that looked really fugging steep and it was really fugging steep, however even that levelled out a bit at the top- if it didn't I'd still be climbing it now).

Gary E

Veteran
There were bits of my regular rides that I always seemed to find hard for no real reason. They looked perfectly flat. It wasn't until I did my ride in reverse that I realised I could free-wheel all the way along that stretch :laugh:

But I agree, once you can see the end point of a climb it does seem to become a little easier.

Conversely, when you climb an unfamiliar hill and think you've reached the top only to go round a corner and find it keeps going up it seems to get harder!!

.... and the last few miles of a ride seems like you're reaching your limit - if I set out for a 60 miler I start to ache at the 55 mile point but if I know I'm doing 100 I'm fine at the 55 mile point :wacko:

and....and....and :laugh: Isn't cycling weird?

colly

Re member eR