I need help!!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Ben Staples

Hello! My name is Ben Staples and I am a student doing an A level project involving designing and manufacturing a locking device so that the bicycle helmet can be locked to the bike when not in use. If a few people could answer the following questions it would be much appreciated and will help me design a product that will meet cyclists desires;

1) Do you think a bicycle helmet locking device is a good idea?

2) Would you be interested in purchasing it if it was available on the market?

3) What sort of price would you value it at?

If you have any ideas for this product and think it will help me ensure it will benefit cyclists, then please feel free to express those opinions.

Thank you

Young Un

1) good idea but I think you will find lots of people just pass their cable lock though the helmet and secure it that way.

2) If I was to start comuuting then yes I may be interested, but it would have to small/light enuff to be able to carry around with me along with my all ready heavy lock.

3) as for valueing the product - it depends on its security rating/its weight/size/locking system. But still be cheap enough so that I do purchase it and stop using the 'cable through hlemet' method. So about £5?

jay clock

Massive member
On the odd occasion I lock it to the bike I just put the cable through the straps. Whilst it would be a hassle to lose my helmet, they are sweaty and therefore hardly of interest to a reseller, and if they had to cut the straps to steal it, the helmet would have zero resale value.

I do have a £1.99 combination lock that would go through the slats of the helmet, and have used that on occasions.

So £1.99 would be a fair price.....

barq

1. Possibly. I can secure my helmet with either my cable lock or U lock, but maybe there are types of bike lock where this isn't so easy.