Ideas for or from other new cyclists.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Sim2003

Hi there I am relatively new to getting out and about on my new bike (Had my bike 2 months now) and venturing further each week. I thought I would just drop a thread about what I have found get me out and about and give me peace of mind that I wont run into any real issues when I'm 10 or more miles away from home.

I found this phone holder via Amazon £5 ish, had to improvise to get it to go on my bars as the holder it came with didn't fit but it works pretty well.I am using Runtastic app but using my phone can kill the battery pretty quick but found this is due to the brightness level and not the app it self .I would like to eventually get a Garmin or something but for now this is a cheaper option and proved to be a real bonus when in need of a shop or pub for fluid top up. This also got me going a longer route thanks to a wrong turn and google maps.

If I know I will be needing a lock I just strap it down on the rack at the back. In my little saddle bag I have a spare tube, tire levers, multi tool, couple of small choccy bars, keys a bit of money and CC tied together :smile:. Then I have a smell pump hidden just under the crank. This all tends to be perfect for me getting out for 2-3 hours although I will be needing bigger bottles or a extra one adding on somewhere.

If there is a chance of rain I pop my pannier on and load all my junk in it along with jacket/waterproofs. Luckily this has only been once so far :smile:

Thank you for reading if you have any nice ideas to add please share.

Last edited:

puffinbilly

Veteran
I haven't a great deal of time now - but one glaring detail that a lot of people on here will comment on is the height of your saddle. I think you'll find it a lot easier to cycle with the seat raised - are your knees not hitting your chest?

mjr

Comfy armchair to one person & a plank to the next