Identifying old frameset ... maybe Holdsworth ?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

bobg

Über Member
I liberated a poor old unloved frame from my LBS recently and have been trying to identify it ever since. A couple of people mention Holdsworth because of the spearpoint lugs etc. I've put some pics here http://www.flickr.com/photos/dawes531/ ( ignore the other old rubbish )

A search for Holdsworth Cyclone came up with this 54 catalogue http://homepage.ntlw...com/nkilgariff/ and everything looks right but the weird "lips" on the top of the seat stays still elude me ??

Any Holdsworth buffs out there??

BTW Sorry the second link only comes up with a title page, to view the 54 catalogue plse select "models", Holdsworth and scroll down to 54 catalogue /Road

Baggy

Cake connoisseur
I'm not an expert, but there are some pics here on Classic Lightweights - looks like a Cyclone to me! A nice find, anyway.

OP
OP
bobg

bobg

Über Member
Thanks Baggy, nice you you to get back to me. I'm a sucker this old stuff and Classic Lightweights is my bedtime read . Sad or what!!

Baggy

Cake connoisseur
Thanks Baggy, nice you you to get back to me. I'm a sucker this old stuff and Classic Lightweights is my bedtime read . Sad or what!!
I'm hardly going to agree you're sad as I also love old bikes!

It might be worth dropping Hilary Stone a line, as you probably know he's written a lot for Classic Lightweights and I'm sure will have an idea of exact make and how to date it etc, though it may take him a while to come back to you. He'll also have a load of bits and pieces suitable for your re-build...

OP
OP
bobg

bobg

Über Member
PS - whatever you do, don't look at the old frames Hilary Stone has for sale :evil:

I hate you Baggy :biggrin: You didn't have to say that.... ( shakes piggy bank and counts pennies)
There are at least 4 that I really must have.

That site was new to me - now bookmarked for late night lusting

Baggy

Cake connoisseur