I'm 18 and want to start bike racing, where do I begin?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I don't know if this is the right place to post this, but my question seems fairly begginerish so I hope it's the right place. I've been rowing at a pretty high level for about 4 years now, but I'm done with that for the moment, anyway I like to think I'm in fairly good shape.But my looking around online hasn't really yielded any sort of club or racing that's targeted at people my age, most of it seems to be either super high level or, errr middle aged men (and women).

Just as a bit of further info I'm currently buzzing around on my Dads oldish rusty hybrid (I'm pretty sure thats what it is) and doing around 20-25 miles each day with a bigger ride on saturdays usually 30+. Try to sit around 16-17mph though I currently don't have the faintest clue how anyway gets up hills at any great speed.

Any advice?

Cheshire Celt

Legend
Get your self a bike and get out cycling

HovR

Über Member
Agreed, contact your local cycling club - most will run some sort of racing scheme. Just give it a go even if you do seem a little younger than some of the other contestants, they may be faster than you think.

If you've got a good bike shop they should also be able to tell you all about local clubs and races.

Regarding hills - If you're riding an oldish hybrid as you say, it may be quite heavy - and hill climbing is where weight really counts!

If you're looking for a good quality (and value for money) starter road bike to get in to the sport, look at the Triban 3 from Decathlon. Loads of people on here have bought it and have been very satisfied (just search "Triban 3" on these forums and you'll see all the threads about them!).

OP
OP
W

WannabeCyclist

Regular