Inner Tube

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

vbriddy

Regular
I'm just starting out and was hoping someone could help me to select the correct inner tube (walked 5 miles with a puncture on Saturday).

I've searched this on the web and read the numbers from the wheel:

25-622 (700 x 250)
H-422

I've seen the many explanations of the numbers but they don't seem to look quite like the ones here.

Can anybody help me but the correct one?

Thanks

Tim Hall

25mmm is the width of the tyre, 700c is (sort of) the diameter of the wheel - 622 is what's called the bead seat diameter and is the One True Way of measuring tyre size, but most shops are more likely to understand 700c. The 25mm is the width of the tyre, but inner tubes tend to span a range of tyre widths, (rather like socks for shoe size 6-11) such as 18mm-25mm, so get one of them. An added complication is the valve type - Presta or Schraeder. It's more likely that you've got Presata valves, but these come in a range of lengths. Measure the old one.

Ajax Bay

Guru
Ask for an inner (and a spare to carry and some patches) 622 18-25 with a valve the same as your other tyre/inner combo which, as @Tim Hall has said will be Presta (pointy, have to unscrew the tiny nut to inflate, 40mm length is likely to be enough but just measure the other one on the sound tyre, longer doesn't matter) or Schraeder (car valve type). A fiver buys it (Kenda, Michelin are likely makes) in your local bike shop.

Spiderweb

Not So Special One
Suggest you read this thread before taking above advice and going cheap, cheap:
https://www.cyclechat.net/threads/is-an-inner-tube-an-inner-tube.129546/
Maybe @Alexvs can say more. Use your LBS and they can sell you the other things you need ie besides just a tube (with advice) .