Is it ever wise to crank in a high gear?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

marinyork

Resting in suspended Animation
Ian H said:
I don't quite understand why that's so. If you're saying you're getting slower and pushing ever lower gears, it simply means you're losing fitness. There are many possibly reasons for that.

I've cycled 5 years, I'm not a newbie. I started off in a big gear very low RPM and then switched to "doing it properly" in a lower gear. I'm not getting slower, I've plateaued because as I've already pointed out, you can't really spin gears those size more than a certain amount which is why I'm slow on the flat and for my very limited abilities against other riders faster up hills. If someone starts saying let's push a gear that's about 60% bigger than you're used to, yeah there are issues.

MacB

Lover of things that come in 3's
marinyork said:
I've cycled 5 years, I'm not a newbie. I started off in a big gear very low RPM and then switched to "doing it properly" in a lower gear. I'm not getting slower, I've plateaued because as I've already pointed out, you can't really spin gears those size more than a certain amount which is why I'm slow on the flat and for my very limited abilities against other riders faster up hills. If someone starts saying let's push a gear that's about 60% bigger than you're used to, yeah there are issues.

No you don't make a sudden big leap but, if you wish progression, then small increases are required. This gives you two options, spin faster or up the gear and spin the same or slightly slower. It sounds very much as if you've reached a level where your cycling is within a comfort zone.