knee pain/IT Band

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

belshc4120

Regular
Hello

i have been cycling for around 8 months and have progressed from 16 mile rides at 14 mph to 75-90 mile rides at 17mph. I have never expereinced any pain in this time and have fallen in love with cycling.

2 weeks ago i did a 75 mile ride(hiily terrain) then the day after did a 60 mile ride(flat terrain). about 10 mile into the second days riding i developed a pain in my IT band/ side of my knee.

I had a few days rest and then tried again and the pain was still there so i had a full week off. i then tried again and the pain was still there after 8 mile.

I therefore went to see a physio who said my legs where really tight,epecially my IT band. she then worked as many of the knotts out as she could and said give it a couple of days and it should be fine. i went out this morning(4 days after massage) and the pain was there after about 8 miles into a 30 miles ride. the pain wasnt as bad as it had been but it was still causing more than enough discomfort especially on hills.

My question today is 2 part:

-is it a physio i need to continue to see or does this sound like something a doctor should take a look at?
-has anyone had anythign similar who could offer advise.

Im keen to get back to longer disntaces and enjoying it properly but i dont want to cause lasting damage.

any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks

T.M.H.N.E.T

Rainbows aren't just for world champions
Foam roller - proper stretching post ride

Stu Smith

Veteran
Foam roller for sure..you will know when you are rolling correctly it hurts :sad: Don't miss the stretching after your rides..And stretch even on your rest days...I find it boring but it really helps..

Broadside

Guru
I have just got over an IT Band strain, the initial physio session really hurt a lot. I backed off on the cycling (but didn't completely stop) and did most of the rehab at home using a foam roller, they are very good.