Knees

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Tel

Veteran
Oh my aching knees!

I've had a fair few years out of the saddle and have recently started commuting to work, it's only a 3 mile round trip so not very demanding I do this 5 days a week.

My bike is set up so my leg is straight when the heel is on the pedal and so that my knee is over the ball of my foot when the pedals are horizontal, although I will check this with picture evidence tomorrow.

I'm riding single speed 36x14t on 28c tyres which gives a gear of about 68"ish which I spin reasonably well.

My knees have actually been playing me up for a few years, they creak and pop and the year before last I thought that I had cartilage problems but it turned out to be an abscess. After a couple of weeks rest it was fine. I've put my knee problems down to my martial arts practice over the last 25 years.

So is it just because I'm new in the saddle again? I'm looking to convert my bike to fixed this weekend using the same gear but I have read a couple of things stating that this is bad for your knees too and the last thing I want is more aggravation. I've also read that this is bollox.

montage

God Almighty
Hmmm, saddle could be too low? That heel flat on the pedal thing did not work for me, I have just been proffessionally fitted due to knee pain and my saddle was nearly 2cm too low!

Also, uphills can put alot of pressure on your knees if you sit down and grind, getting out the saddle will relieve the pressure off your knees (at least it will do if this knee pain is a saddle problem) and is better for them in the long run.

Though the fact you have knee problems outside of cycling means that my advice could be completely none applicable. :smile:

Hope it works out for you

jayce

I done my saddle height by my heel to the bottom stroke and leg slightly bent as i was having cramp so my saddle was too high when my leg was fully straight at bottom stroke

Hont

Guru