'Layback' seat-posts, any experiences?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

mattobrien

Guru
I actually have a spare 3T carbon seatpost. I was bought new but the layback / offset was too much to achieve what I needed. Sadly I only found this out when test fitting it.

It has a 35mm setback, which is about as far as they go. I was trying to broadly morrow the geometry between two bikes, so ended up with a seatpost on bike two with zero setback. Bike one has 25mm.

Have been meaning to 'move on' the spare seatpost for a while but have done nothing about it. If it is of interest pm me or let me know and I can supply further info.

simon.r

Person
The Titec Hellbent had a lot of layback, but I don't think they're still made:

item-20050711222328975.jpg

compo

Veteran
I have no experience of lay back posts but I do have similar problems to the OP. I always found myself sitting back too far on my Brooks saddle so my bottom was actually sitting on the rear edge of the saddle. The solution for me was a VK saddle position adjuster which takes the saddle backwards another 4 cms. I have done several hundred miles with it now and it has transformed my comfort on the bike. Not cheap but worth every penny.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/160978165331?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:blush:T&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649

I am resurrecting this to give a long term use report!
if using one of these adaptors with a laid back seatpost be careful, especially if you are a heavyweight like me. This is the remains of my seat post when it snapped the other day while out on a ride. The LBS thought it was the extra leverage on the seatpost that eventually led to it's demise. He fitted a new seatpost that isn't jointed, but angled to give some lay back and I am getting used to riding with the seat not so far back.
WP_20150127_001_zpszbrkdeem.jpg

OP
OP
Fab Foodie

Fab Foodie

hanging-on in quiet desperation ...
I am resurrecting this to give a long term use report!