Lazy Bones

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Rooster1

I was right about that saddle
I've been cycling for a couple of years now, gradually doing longer miles at a faster pace.

Year on year, i've gone from doing 30-40 miles a week, to 50-70, to 100 + a week.
My speeds have gone from an average of 15 mph, to 16.5 and more recently over 18-19 mph over say 40 miles.

Today was a perfect demonstration of the fact that I don't really push myself hard enough and I can go faster, and further - if I really tried.

I was out for an hour solo lunch ride and doing a Cat 4 cilmb, the same one I do at least once or twice a week.
Today was different, I was with another rider who I got chatting with and we decided to do the hill together.
Problem was, he was going quicker - I was gutted - this was MY HILL. I have ridden it 100's of times.

So, without killing myself I, I pushed fairly hard, so as not to fall back.

And I get a PB! The rankings for the hill put me about 1200 out of 3000 people.

This is a winter ride, with a muddy, wet, leafy road, and some gusts of wind (not a tailwind, mind).

I'm so annoyed that I could be going faster and that all I really do is the same old routine, day in day out.

Now, I like solo riding, but I can see the benefits of having a cycling buddy, to push and be pushed.

Lazy Bones.

TheJDog

dingo's kidneys
This is why Strava is good. If you don't have a buddy, you can motivate youself to push - tell yourself that top 33% isn't good enough. I tell myself top 10% is what I'm aiming for, and I can mostly get it with a lot of effort. Recent effort put me 135/4000 (74/3700 for the longer segment!) on a local hill cycling hotspot - not bad for a 44 year old :biggrin:

Last edited:

SatNavSaysStraightOn

Changed hemispheres!