LEJoG August, unsupported wild camping and advice

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Holdsworth

Über Member
Hi all,

So I've already posted in here about the cycle spaces on the Penzance train but I will also post about my trip in general as I'm in need of a little advice and reassurance. It is in 2 weeks and I've never done a long tour before but have been cycling on and off for the past 4 years now and at a stage where I can do 50 miles fully-loaded without too much strain and fatigue so I believe my fitness is getting there. I will be doing another short trip to the welsh borders and back this weekend as another dry-run with all the gear to get it down to a tee.

Now my trip will be unsupported and will take place over 15 days, I wanted to give myself the easiest time possible on this trip as I am not going for any records here and have 3 weeks off. So far I have devised a basic route of approximately 985 miles which will see me doing 65 miles on average per day. Hopefully this shall give a relatively easy-going ride with time to make a few decent stops each day to take it all in.
My plan is to camp along the way to minimise cost and maximise adventure value and I believe I have all of the necessary equipment to do so, even though it all adds up in weight. So far my gear consists of the following, please tell me if there is anything else I should add:

Bike is a Revolution Country Traveller 2011, recently had chain, cassette, bottom bracket, brake pads and pedals. New bar tape fitted and brooks B17 installed for comfort.
  • Vango Banshee 200 tent
  • Self-inflating toll mat
  • 2 season sleeping bag
  • 2x 40 litre EBC panniers
  • Altura 7 litre bar bag
  • 2x bib shorts
  • 2x jersey
  • set of casual clothes for off the bike
  • SPD's
  • Folding aluminium table
  • Compact stove and cookset + utensils and bowl, cup etc.
  • Basic foods (pasta, rice, cous cous, coffee) - Daily consumables bought en route
  • First aid kit