Liverpool Chester Liverpool

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

headcoat

Über Member
Has anyone done the Liverpool-Chester-Liverpool charity ride?

I have a couple of question before I enter for it.

I am thinking of doing the 90 mile trip, but want to do this more for the distance than a race, are there usually a good mix of people on this long ride?

Are the roads closed off?

Are there marshals directing you?

Probably more questions as I have never done a ride like this before, generally go out on my own or with friends.

Thanks

Globalti

Legendary Member
Can you link us to the ride website?

They close the Birkenhead tunnel but no roads are closed. Tunnel re-opens at 3pm. I'm thinking of entering the Liverpool - Chester one just to ride through the tunnel and then I'll amble home.

Shrim

I've signed up for this although i'm doing the 56 mile route. Never done it before but i've been told its fairly flat, this from someone who did it last year. Website shows a mix of riders so doesn't seem too serious.

Globalti

Legendary Member
That'll be your problem - the ride will consist of hundreds of unfit cyclists on unsuitable bikes with under inflated tyres, all wearing charity T shirts, bumbling along, weaving all over the road and piling up at the bottoms of the hills when they got off to walk. On top of that there will be conflict with stressed up drivers trying to get past them.

The only way not to get caught up in the mayhem is to be amongst the first off.

skudupnorth

Cycling Skoda lover
Hmmmmmm, Me thinks fixie and the 90 miler :whistle: Fancy this if i'm not doing anything

PaulB

Legendary Member
Done this several times. The joys are riding through the tunnels and the general flatness of the course. Don't worry about traffic either as there's not too much about and those that are tend to be very courteous.