Long haul for a beginner???

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Supabook

Good Morning guys / gals.

My names Simon and ive recently taken up cycling after a stupid discussion which got out of hand, and now means im cycling from Holyhead to London and back!! As part of the Supabook Charity Week.

Have i bitten off more than i can chew? Possibly... quite likely actually! Which is why ive turned to you bunch of cycling enthusiasts for a bit of guidance on what i can expect and what i need to prepare for.

On the 6th July 2009, myself and a college intend to commence our 5 day journey, in order to raise as much money possible for the Wales Air Ambulance, you can read a little more of the specifics here:

http://www.justgiving.co.uk/supabookcharityweek

Im relatively fit, I started training about 6 months ago with the intension of leaving my ordinary 9 - 5 and joining the Royal Marines, that’s still in the back of my mind and would be something id really like to do, although my real passion is to run my own business which im now doing, so ive put off the idea of the Royal Marines because of this (and a amazing girlfriend).

I have about a month ago bough a new bike specifically for the challenge a Wilier La Triestina-Lampre Road Bike along with the other bits and bobs needed (the Lycra shorts, a helmet, shoes etc) from wiggle.

Ive been training on the bike along with my college, but mostly alone almost every night for the last month or so, doing between 15 – 20 miles a night, with the odd 40 miler for good measure and mainly when the weather is not too crazy. Are we doing enough? What else should we be doing to increase our endurance? Are there any specific training technique’s we should be concentrating on to improve specific aspects?