Mapping Software?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Maherees

Über Member
Hi,
i am still new to road riding so still somewhat nervous in traffic so i am hoping someone can recommend me some mapping software so i can concentrate on the smaller country road near me and avoid the trunk roads?
I can then download the tracks to my GPS.
thanks

Last edited:
Don't believe that smaller country roads are in fact safer. Quite often due to limited visibility and restricted room to manoeuvre they can be as if not more dangerous

There is a mapping system that is called "Cycle Streets"

It offers a range of routes

cosmicbike

Perhaps This One.....
I use Ride With GPS to do the route and export to my Garmin. Done alongside Google maps so I can use satellite view plus street view to see what the roads are actually like

youngoldbloke

The older I get, the faster I used to be ...
I really like the ability to switch between Google and OS maps in Bikehike and being able to print a map of the route - in much better detail than with RWGPS. You can also download the route as various file types including gpx

Trickedem

Guru
bikehike.co.uk is the best site. This allows you to plot a road route whilst seeing an ordnance survey map at the same time. As long as you keep to a yellow road, it will be a proper road that you can ride a road bike on.

Aravis

Putrid Donut
For planning a route and uploading to a Garmin I find RwGPS much the easiest to use. This may be because I haven't figured out how to use BikeHike properly, but I do find it so much easier to tweak a route on RwGPS. I do this a lot in order to get the distance right and - questionable as this may seem - achieve an outline that looks nice.

This is mainly for rides that start and finish from home, so most of the roads I'm being routed along I know already. Any that I don't I'll check using either a physical OS map or Bing Maps to make sure they at least look like proper roads.

iwantanewbike