microsoft vista

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

busdennis

Veteran
hi im new to vista and need to uninstall a program but cannot see an unistall icon in the control panel. also outlook express as been corrupted and will not open so can anybody recommend a safe place to reinstall a fresh copy

thanks

defy-one

Best advice i can give you is upgrade to windows 7.
Vista was very buggy and didn't stay for long.
Do you have your windows cd? Try a repair from that,or visit the microsoft web site and do a search

rusky

CC Addict
If upgrading isn't an option you can uninstall programs from the Programs & features icon in control panel.

Outlook express was ditched with XP, Vista & 7 use Windows Mail, try that!

marinyork

Resting in suspended Animation
If you can wait, I believe that microsoft are offering an upgrade to windows 8 from xp/vista/7 for £30. It's a limited running time period till Jan I think.

Control panel, then type 'unin' into the search box top right.
'Programs and Features', 'Uninstall a Program' will then be listed for you to click on.

For what it is worth, Vista was pretty fixed after SP1, let alone SP2.
In fact my 'upgrade' to Win7 had me looking for any changes at all, stability remained the same too - as in rock solid.
I know Vista bashing before SP1 became a bit of a web meme at the time, but I have rarely seen any substance to it since SP1.

As for Windows 8...the interface preview left me cold, so I'll probably wait until that is at least past SP1 too.

Doseone

Guru
Click on the windows icon bottom left of screen; click on control panel; click on programs/ uninstall a program.

If you still can't find it when you click on control panel you have the option to go back to the classic control panel view which will look more familiar if you have come from XP.