My First Audax - Hudson's Heasy Hundred.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Ashaman42

Über Member
Well with all this talk of doing LEL next time around I thought I best try som shorter audax events to see if I like them.

Joined AudaxUK last week and got an entry form off to Dave Hudson for the 100k Hudson's Heasy Hundred on 4th April from Hailsham.

It's my first time deciphering a route sheet but have plotted it on gmaps-pedometer with a bit of sign checking using google streetview. I think I've got it right but will have to work out how I'm going to navigate without my computer, especially as my brain and bike computer work in miles ;)

Must admit I'm a little nervous which is odd as I cycled 100k last weekend in a time which would be well under the time limit. Guess it's just that I don't quite know how things are done.

Is anyone else doing the HHH? If one of you lovely lot is going I don't suppose I could send you my gmap link to see if my route is correct could I?

jimboalee

Is this ride in you local area?

Its best to do a FIRST Audax in your own back yard.

If you know where all the controls are, you don't have to follow the routesheet. Just get to the controls within the times and get the INFO questions correct.
Job done.

You can mark the route on a map and see if you have got it right by following a group of experienced riders.

PS Put the little circular sticker on your back mudguard to show you are a freshman. This will stop other riders following you because you might not be going the right way. ;)
Take the sticker off when you have your 200km Randonneur medal.

PPS Identify 'experienced riders' by checking for a lack of stickers on their mudguards. Bikes without mudguards should not be followed because they're not Audax hardenned Randonneurs. No-one would go on a 300km on a bike without some kind of splash protection.:smile:

OP
OP
A

Ashaman42

Über Member