My MTB Training for 2017...some advice?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

nos

Hi, I'm not a professional of this hobbie. I really like the MTB and I train to stay fit and perform marathons and stages races.

I know that if I have a personal coach I will get more performance but I like to learn and self-train. Apart, as I said, I do not dedicate myself professionally to it. The training for this year, done by me, is this:

BASE (10 Weeks) - Week 1:

EoQD2Wm.png

The rest of the weeks would gradually increase the time.

BUILD (5 Weeks) - Week 1:

qqKtXok.png

The rest of the weeks would gradually increase the time of repetitions.

INTERVAL TRAINING (4 Weeks) - Week 1:

JHTYiMi.png

The rest of the weeks would gradually increase the series.

TAPER (10 Days) - The 10 Days:

Mp3gTNj.png

Mo38CvM.png

I listen to opinions, suggestions, etc. I hope they are constructive :P. I seek to improve and learn more :smile:. At the moment, I want a one peak of form.

Thanks in advance.

OP
OP
nos

nos

Some help please? :smile:.

Globalti

Legendary Member
Firstly that's too much riding; the improvement comes in the periods of descanso in between the periods of stressing your body. I would say that unless you are a professional with the best resources, diet, etc. you shouldn't ride more than three times a week.

Secondly, you don't really train on a mountain bike. Get a road bike and head for the Sierras and find some long steady climbs.

S-Express

I would say that unless you are a professional with the best resources, diet, etc. you shouldn't ride more than three times a week.

That's a very strange thing to say - and certainly not suported by any best practice evidence as far as I can tell. What's your reasoning behind it?

Countless numbers of 'non-pro' riders train more than three times a week, maybe five or six times in some cases. As always, the trick is to train at a level you can maintain, according to whatever your targets are.