Neck/ Shoulder Pain, just started same bike (s).

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

exigetastic

Hi all, first of all as this is my first post please be gentle (esp. as I'm suffering a bit atm :wacko:)

My situation is this: I've been riding regularly for the last 4 years both on and off road. I have had the same two bikes over the last 2-3 years (Trek Madone, and Scott MC20) Both have around 2,000 miles on them. (obviously I don't ride enough xx()

After an easy (cycling wise) 6 months, I'm starting to get some more commute time in (14 miles round trip / 4-5 days a week) But now I'm really starting to struggle with neck pain :boxing:

Nothing on the bikes has changed set-up wise, I've not put on any weight, my speed is a little down (but getting back nicely).

The pain doesn't seem to be affected by which bike I ride, though the worst incident happened last week riding round Sherwood Pines on the MTB. 18 months ago I rode the exact bike on a century+, and felt fine.

Obviously I'm getting older (now 35) so maybe it's that xx(

But any other suggestions gratefully received

Si

col

Legendary Member
I wonder if you pulled a bit hard on the bars when you were not used to the extra pull and pulled something, maybe before warming up enough? Frozen peas in a cloth and brufen to help get rid?

OP
OP
E

exigetastic

Wow thanks for the quick reply!!

Possibly... Strange thing is it's been on and off for over a couple of months now :wacko:

Time to buy shares in nurofen xx(

Si

MacB

Lover of things that come in 3's
I had similar, though mine was also related to setup, but the initial trigger was honking up hill and pulling hard on the bars, definitely felt something go. Despite fixing setup etc it still took about a month to clear up. I had to be really careful about pulling back on the bars as it could easily set it off. Split second thing but the rest of the ride would see me in real pain, just at junction of neck and right shoulder.

Hont