Need to fix patio doors, advice please

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Proto

Legendary Member
The doors from the kitchen to the patio are old and in need of repair. They were like it when we moved in two years ago but they've finally got to the top of my 'to do' list.

The closing bolts have broken away, taking the wood with them (see photos). Top and bottom are the same. So I need to cut out broken bits and set in some new wood, glued and screwed, somehow. I'd then fit the bolts not where they were (too week) but on the inner face of the door something like 75mm from the end face.

Problem is I'm unsure of the best way of removing the broken bits and preparing for the insert. I'm thinking of using a router. I'm an inexperienced woodworker but have all the necessary tools.

Any thoughts and suggestions?

Attachments

• IMG_3086.jpg
    IMG_3086.jpg
    85.7 KB · Views: 11
  • IMG_3089.jpg
    IMG_3089.jpg
    95.1 KB · Views: 9
  • IMG_3085.JPG
    IMG_3085.JPG
    78.5 KB · Views: 9

MontyVeda

a short-tempered ill-controlled small-minded troll

Problem is I'm unsure of the best way of removing the broken bits and preparing for the insert. I'm thinking of using a router. I'm an inexperienced woodworker but have all the necessary tools.
I'm not sure what you're trying to remove (just wood?) ...but I'd advise not using a router and going in with a sharp chisel and hammer instead. Routers cut very efficiently and drive themselves to a certain extent. You might take far too much out in a couple of seconds. Go slow, go steady, with a good sharp chisel :okay:

EDIT.. i think i see now... the top corner of the door, not the rebate in the frame :smile:

Take the door off, use a sharp chisel.

Last edited:
OP
OP
Proto

Proto

Legendary Member