New Bike - Advice

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Bandini

Hello, Hope I am in the right place to ask this: I am looking to buy a bike for less than £600. I love the look/comfort factor of the 'classic' types such as the Pashley Sovereign, but I would also like to be able to bike to the North York Moors: about 60 miles there, camping and 6o miles back. Obviously three gears wouldn't really cut it! Realistically, I guess the town bike styling might not be applicable - so something 'plain and simple' looking would be OK. So, can anyone recommend anything that is: reliable, 'plain' or 'classic' looking, comfortable, yet capable of taking on a few hills (not too many cos I don't go far into the moors) - or am I asking for the moon on a stick! Advice gratefully appreciated. Thanks, Damian.

WeeE

I'm a beginner biker with no technical knowledge, but you can get dutch-style bikes with 6 or 7 speed Shimano gears from a one-man London firm that imports them capitalcycles.co.uk. They come fully equipped - all the mudguards, rear rack, lights - and they're a helluva lot cheaper than Pashleys. They guy is very passionate about his bikes and very approachable if you email or call him with questions.

Any of you more experienced folk, I'd be interested in what you think of these bikes for the price - the specs, the components etc as value for money.

The model I got seems to be sold out at the moment, (one of two stepover models) but it's not too different. Only had it a few weeks, but so far, it glides along, sturdy and comfy as anything - you don't notice 20 kilos of shopping on the back (and that's about half my bodyweight).

wafflycat

If you are looking to carry camping stuff, and looking to be cycling 60+ miles in comfort, I suggest you look to a touring bike. There's a reason tourers are bought by people doing a spot of cycle touring - they work as suitable for purpose :headshake:

Fiona N

Veteran