New Boardman CX Team 2011

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

StephenCX

Some great pics and information.

I've been running a Boardman CX now for a couple of years as my main commuting bike (all through winter each year). I had not ridden a bike for around 30 years and this was my first go at been back in the saddle. The fact is that this is a great bike and mine has taken a lot of abuse - especially the days when I don't fancy the full commute to work (20m each way) and have it chained up at an intermediary train station. Things I have done since buying the bike:

1. Reversed stem to raise the handle bars a little and later changing over to a new shorter stem (110mm v's 130mm).
2. Full set of mud guards fitted buy Halfords when I bought it.
3. Been through many sets of lights, finally settling on lights from Exposure - as they have been the only ones that seem to survive the british weather.
4. Swapped to a Set of Marathon tires (35mm) and later to a set of ultra Gator Skins (28mm) after the Marathons wore out. Never had a puncture with either :smile:
5. Had many problems changing up to the big ring. I had a new FD (Rival) fitted but that did not solve it. I have eventually changed the whole group set (except for crank) to a new Shimano Tiagra 10speed (12-30) that I pinched from the Mrs bike. This is the same as my weekend road bike and has proved to be a lot more reliable and much smoother changes - looks are still ok as it still has the FSA Crank and goes with the colour of the rear rack and mudguards.
6. Experimented with various different pedals - eventually settling on Crank Brothers Candy 1's - look great on the bike.
7. Learnt how to replace disc pads after the original pair wore down almost to the metal! I must admit though the brakes have never been great. I now have a Cube trail something bike with hydraulic brakes and they are just amazing in comparison.