New MTB Budget £1000 - £1500

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Jim77

I am looking for a new MTB I hope to be using the Cycle to Work Scheme and want to use a LBS. One of my LBS stocks Specialized, the other Orbea and Scott.

What would people recommend for this budget from these brands?

I am new to MTB and want to ride all round trails in North Wales (where I live) I am not looking for anything too daredevil and how fast I go is not an issue. I am looking for something that is an all rounder and comfortable, so I have been thinking full suspension. It would need to be fairly light so I can take it on and off a roof rack without taking the front wheel off.

OP
OP
J

Jim77

I have been looking at :

Orbea Alu Comp £999

Orbea Alu Race £1125

Scott Aspect FX 15 £1049

or

Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Comp £1500

Please advise!!

sheddy

Legendary Member
Please please please please you don't need full sus for commuting. Honest.
Better to spend a few hundred in order to find out what you need and then go ballistic later.
And don't go to Halfords

dodgy

The OP said this "I am new to MTB and want to ride all round trails in North Wales (where I live) ", I think he is actually looking for full suspension.

Dave.

barq

Knowing that area, and the trails, I'd say full suspension is a good idea. I know people who've been pretty happy with their Stumpjumpers.

dodgy

I have a Stumpjumper (it's a slightly more expensive model than the OP mentions) and it's a cracker. Zero maintenance issues in the 3 years I've had it.

Jim, you mention Orbea and Scott, I take it you're referring to the Eureka Cycle sports shop near Queensferry?

Dave.

dodgy

It's technically a £1000 upper limit, but some retailers will turn a blind eye and let you top up over the limit. I've no idea what happens if you get rumbled though.

Dave.

OP
OP
J

Jim77