1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie girlie question.....

Discussion in 'Bicycle Mechanics and Repairs' started by snapper_37, 20 Feb 2008.

1. snapper_37

snapper_37 Barbara Woodhouse's Love Child

What is the difference between a double and triple chain set?

I have only had triple sets (is this 3rd ring what my roadie friend at work calls the granny gear??).

Does it mean that I won't get smaller gears for steep hills.

Sorry if I sound like a complete novice but .... I am on this subject!!!!

Thanks

2. Mister Paul

Mister Paul Honky

Welcome!

Yes, a triple has three rings on the front. You have more range of gears, but along with that comes some overlap. And hills are easier as you will have a granny gear.

You can also get compact gearing. This is just a double with more of a difference between the sizes of the two rings than normal. You then get more of the range of a triple, but with bigger steps between the gears. It's a compromise between double and triple.

I hope this makes sense. If not, then just read the other few similar responses you will get as we all fight to be the first to reply.

3. snapper_37

Aww thanks Paul! You got in first though :wacko:

Ok, so I'm fairly bike fit but always had a triple. If you've read my other post, I want to get rid of the drop bar Trek I have *shame*. I quite fancy the Cinelli Hoy Hoy Rats but think it's a double.

Crank set FSA 34/50
    Freewheel Shimano 12/25 8 speed

I hope I've quoted the right things.

I'm just worried that I will look a right moose on an especially steep hill???

4. domtyler

domtyler Über Member

Mister Paul obviously has an automated script scanning this forum for any new thread with the words new and girl in it!! :wacko: :wacko:

5. Crackle

Crackle Pah Staff Member