Newbie in Essex!!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

daveyc2k2

Hi Guys & Gals,

I have just signed up as a complete newbie. I am looking to buy a road bike mainly for commuting (only a couple of miles) and then spending a few hours of a weekend out on. Possibly if I enjoy it then progressing on to a club etc, but who knows.

Thought I would join so I can get plenty of advice in terms of cost, brands and what I need etc.

Look forward to hopefully getting involved on here.

Dave

raleighnut

Legendary Member
:welcome:

Greetings from an exiled Brentwood cyclist .

Plenty of info, advice and laughs here, so get stuck in.

There're cyclists from all corners of the UK (inc. Scotland, so far ;)) so you should be able to find a CC group ride somewhere local(ish) in London, the south east and the home counties.

Diggs

Veteran
Hi Dave, and welcome from just down the road. You're in a ideal location, whether it's a lazy pootle round the local parks or a more energetic ride out into the country lanes (and only one big hill ;) )

compo

Veteran
Hi Dave and welcome from another from just up the road. Hope you find the right bike and enjoy your cycling.

Hi Dave, and welcome from just down the road. You're in a ideal location, whether it's a lazy pootle round the local parks or a more energetic ride out into the country lanes (and only one big hill ;) )
What are you talking about??

Essex has the greatest number and steepest hills in the UK. And don't try and argue as that's a fact.

Lisat

Essex has the greatest number and steepest hills in the UK. And don't try and argue as that's a fact.

Welcome. enjoy getting your bike. I bought one this year and it has been brilliant.
And Dorset is really flat cycling country. Fact.

Diggs

Veteran

OK @0-markymark-0 if you say so. To be honest, the only thing in Essex I've seen that are Hors Catégorie are my bathroom taps.....
hors cat.jpg

Rickshaw Phil

Overconfidentii Vulgaris
Hi and :welcome: Dave