Newbie questions

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hi all

I'm new to cycling, being an injured runner, I've taken to 2 wheels.

I've only been riding less than a week, and I've clocked up 35 miles already.

My 10 mile rides are taking me about 40 minutes at the moment.

With cycling, do I need to worry too much about rest days like with running?

Also, how quickly can I build up distance? I'd like to crack the hour barrier before long, but don't want to do too much too soon and cause myself problems.

Any advice gratefully received :smile:

Nebulous

Guru
Hi Eddie and welcome,

the answer as with so many things is - it depends!

How fit are you, how does the bike fit, do you get any discomfort when riding?How easy does 10 miles feel? What kind of bike are you on?

I was old, fat and unfit when I first started - but I got fedup of 10 miles very quickly and pretty soon jumped to 30. Its often quoted to add 10% at a time, but at 10 miles that isn't very much. An hour on a bike isn't like an hour running, its easier to take a break on a bike, and an hour would be easier than it is running. You need to be aware of any injury you're carrying though, try not to exacerbate it.

the snail

Guru
Hi Eddie
10 miles in 40min is very respectable pace in your first week, you're obviously pretty fit. I think the main thing is to get out on the bike regularly, you should be able to up the mileage pretty quickly, just common sense really, see how you feel at the end of a ride. If you're not in serious pain after 10 miles, then 15 or 20 miles is probably doable, if you can do 20 miles then try 25 or 30. I don't think you need to worry too much about rest days as such unless you're training intensively, but your legs will tell you - if they're still aching the next day then have a day off or do a gentle ride. I wouldn't worry about how fast you're going, better to take it gently especially at the start of a ride and concentrate on getting the miles in.