Newbie tyre advice

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Petalpower

Regular
Hi everyone :hello:, I'm a newbie cyclist, injured runner just starting out so please excuse my ignorance if I ask a daft question :blush: I haven't ridden a bike for more years than i care to remember but it's like they say...you never forget! Although it seems a lot more technical then all those years ago! I'm sure you used to pedal backwards to change gear ^_^
I bought a second hand Raleigh RXW cyclocross bike a week ago and so far I'm loving it. I wanted something I could use on the road (my friends have road bikes) but also something I could tackle some tracks or towpaths on with the kids.
So here goes with the hopefully not too silly question...it has Shwalbe Rapid Rob tyres on at the moment which are knobbly (technical term :blush:) and I must admit give me a bit more confidence on the road. But I've read they can wear really quickly on tarmac so is there any reason why I can't change them to more of a road tyre instead? If it's not a daft idea what tyre would you recommend and size too please? It's a bit of a mine field all this!
Any tips or advice would be every so gratefully received and happy cycling :bicycle:

Kestevan

Last of the Summer Winos
No reason at all you cant change them to a set of slicks (you'll actually have more grip on tarmac with slicks than knobblies).
You can tell the tyre size by checking the tyre wall on your existing tyre. I'm guessing it will be a 700x32 (or something) the 700 is the "size" of the tyre, the 32 is the width in mm. You can replace it with a 700c tyre with a narrower width.. I'd suggest something like a 700x28 or 700x25.