Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Suddabym

hi im new to road biking I’m looking at a triban 3 second hand for £120 is this a good deal as I’m not sure as I’ve never bought a road bike before below are some pics from the selling page thanks in advance

Attachments

• 0C8F58A1-45FD-4F96-87AD-5E72DEE4F175.png
    0C8F58A1-45FD-4F96-87AD-5E72DEE4F175.png
    67.6 KB · Views: 28
  • 8ADE4FB8-A560-4D46-B67D-56BB3740A727.png
    8ADE4FB8-A560-4D46-B67D-56BB3740A727.png
    72.7 KB · Views: 30

mjr

Comfy armchair to one person & a plank to the next
It depends on the state of it and whether it's the right size for you. I've paid more and I've paid less. Are you OK checking a bike over? https://www.cyclinguk.org/article/cycling-guide/buy-secondhand-bike seems like a reasonable guide.

Mentally, I budget for replacing the tyres, brake pads, chain, rear cassette and wheel and headset bearings at the very least - you might not need to do the lot, but it's not always immediately obvious whether you do. This can make a big difference to the perceived price of some bikes with more exotic parts on.

Cycleops

Legendary Member
Tribans are well regarded model on here. It's a stonking deal if it's been well maintained and doesn't need many replacement parts.
Try to ascertain how well used it is and if the seller has receipts for what he's spent on it. That's if you don't know how to appraise the condition.
If it's been well used budget to replace parts as above. Seems like an older model to me, could be up to six years old.
Looks like a medium size but can't be sure. Is it the right size for you? Do the Victor Sylvester check with the top tube (plenty of ballroom?). How tall are you?

Good luck.

Last edited:
OP
OP
Suddabym

Suddabym

Thank you so much for replies to be honest I haven’t got a clue what I’m doing the lady said it’s a 57 frame if that means anything and I’m 5’7

OP
OP
Suddabym

Suddabym