Newby Commuter

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Baneli

Okay hello everyone, Im new to commuting and will be starting my 5 mile ride to work on monday and I thought it would be a good idea to join a place were everyone enjoys the wonders of bikes :smile:

My ride doesn't start at home as I have to drive 2 miles to a village where I will be leaving my car for the day as that 2 mile road is a deadly drive next to a river which isn't safe even for cars... as a new rider I simply wont feel safe riding along there for a start. So a short drive into a villege and leaving my car at a safe space were alot of people park for the day and move on to their workplace. My choice but touch wood my car will be fine. Do many people do this for a start? to try break in the ride easy to their system? I am doing the commute simply to save money/fitness and because im feed up of driving everywhere! Riding is so my more enjoyable :smile:

Just a view pointers, I have red up on the highway code and all the safety in riding but a few things I have felt a little unsure about in some areas. I will be riding in country/villages so no city riding but what there is a que of traffic at a junction or roundabout do you go past them on the left or right?

Also I have read that you should keep left of the road but I have seen so many videos of cyclists riding almost in the middle of the lane which forces the cars to stop and wait to overtake, is that a good idea or stupid? I can see it being okay in citys but not on a fast 60mph road.

I am sure I will think and come across many of things once I start the ride and really looking forward to it :smile:

upsidedown

Waiting for the great leap forward
Welcome and keep the questions coming.

Driving part of the way is a great idea, you might find eventually that you feel confident doing the whole ride, maybe not, just do whatever suits you.