North Dakota says Hi

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

KCC74

Regular
I'm a teacher that relaxes by biking the plains of ND. It's flat but always windy.

I live in the middle of the state where most roads are gravel. Most of my rides are out into the wind & back with the wind pushing me home.

I have 4 bikes I ride, 2 are vintage: Schwinn 1972 Sports Tourer & 1974 Super Sport. I also have a Trek 1200 ('82 I think) & a Transeo (the only non-road bike).

KCC74

Chris S

Legendary Member
:welcome: There are quite a few US members on this site.

ColinJ

Puzzle game procrastinator!
Welcome to the forum!

I hope you and your family are doing ok...? I just watched a report on the news over here about the Coronavirus situation in Dakota and it sounded really grim! (I think that it might have been South Dakota though.)

I was struck by how flat it was there and imagined the wind ripping across the plains. I'd find that pretty hard to cope with on the bike, but as you say - ride out into the wind and fly home!

Archie_tect

De Skieven Architek... aka Penfold + Horace
Hello!

How many roads have you got to ride on KCC... is it a case of riding dead straight for an hour and turning round or have you a network of loops between accessible towns?

OP
OP
KCC74

KCC74

Regular
Welcome to the forum!

I hope you and your family are doing ok...? I just watched a report on the news over here about the Coronavirus situation in Dakota and it sounded really grim! (I think that it might have been South Dakota though.)

I was struck by how flat it was there and imagined the wind ripping across the plains. I'd find that pretty hard to cope with on the bike, but as you say - ride out into the wind and fly home!