opinions please

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Kiwiavenger

im a little tea pot
im trying to pursuade my new boss to impliment a cycle to work scheme through halfords (i know, bit dodgy but there is only 1 other bike shop in my area!) and am looking for a mountain bike to both commute on (with snow/ice studs for when it gets nasty) and riding the clay trails and a few offroad trails. ive come across this and was wondering on people opinions im looking at a maximum of about £500 all in.

im new to the realms of MTB'ing and like the look of hydralic disc brakes along with the lockout on the air suspension which i think could be handy! im also quite handy with a spanner and sockets so may look to upgrade.

VamP

Banned
That is eye wateringly heavy. With that budget, go secondhand.

I just built a Pace rc305 with Rebas, Hope hydraulic brakes and XT/SLX drivetrain from a mixture of secondhand and new components. All in at 24lbs. £1600 bike for £800. Like you I am new to the world of MTB, but not new to cycling. Building is loads of fun, and a great learning curve. I have now no doubt that I will manage all future maintenance on the bike as well.

If it has to be new from Halfords then look at the Boardman's and the Carreras.

OP
OP
Kiwiavenger

Kiwiavenger

im a little tea pot
if it goes through it may have to be halfords but they can source other makes so might look into that!

most of the ones ive looked at are 14-15 KG in my price range almost weiging 50% more than my roadie!

akb

Veteran
The Carrera Vulcun was on my list when I was searching for a MTB. Lots of great reviews and good price too.
I did however settle for a Spesh Rockhopper for £600, on 0% finance. If money is a problem, quite a few LBS now offer a 0% finance scheme.

lpretro1