Other Makes

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Reaper

Hi I'm new to Cycle Chat and my knowledge of folding bikes is very limited . Most views on this forum seem to about Bromptons or Dahons,both of which appear expensive but are,i suspect,very good . I have recently purchased two F/Bs,neither the above makes . Due to budget constraints and that we wouldn't be carrying them on/off public transport,we went into the S/H market . For the wife i purchased a Teman Urban . It's seems a nice little machine . All the equipment works well and it's relatively light . For myself,l purchased a Raleigh Swift . Again no complaints so far . I appreciate that these wouldn't be the choice for the majority of people,but for the combined budget of 220 pounds,we're quite happy . Another manufacturer i've seen is Rohloff Birdy . Any views?

http://www.atob.org.uk/ for all you need to know about folding bikes.

Brommyboy

Über Member
You will find that many branded folding bicycles are built on Dahon frames! Some of the lesser known folders give an appalling ride. I remember seeing one with a derrailleur gear which put its jockey wheel on to the ground if the tyre was a little soft! The better ones not only ride well, but also last longer, in terms of spares availability. Brompton, after some 20 years, still is considered the best for compact folding as well as giving a reasonable ride. Most Dahon type folders are 50% longer when folded. A to B has many reports from their various tests over the years and consistently have rated Brompton, Birdy and Bike Friday as the best for many years. Dahon suffers from changed designs and components each year, which may now be resolved with the new Tern. Finally, Brompton has a 16" wheel: a 20" wheel with a road tyre actually measures about 18" (20" with a 2" tyre) so there is very little difference in size.

OP
OP
R

Reaper

Many thanks for your reply .