Oww, waa waa waa!!!! It hurts.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

in difficulty

Hey everybody,
I am a 48 year old heart attack and open heart surgery survivor, YAY, and I am giving cycling a go as a way to keep the old ticker working properly because running just sucks. JMO.
I have friends who ride but I am a total newby.

I am tall and thin, riding on all borrowed equipment. A 30 pound 80s model Pugeot, Garmin Edge 305 with the heart thingy (sweet, thanks to Scott)
cycling shorts (my daughter laughed and laughed) and a jersey.

I went on a couple of short rides, 5 to 10 miles to see what I got.
Last weekend I decided to go a little farther. I did a 25 mile loop at an average of 15 mph. I know that is short and slow but I am totally stoked about my effort.

Now to my questions,
I need a new seat. I found myself having to coast while standing on a pedal to releive the pain. What is a comfortable model?

My hands are sore. I guess I need gloves as well. Any thoughts?

And last but not least......pedals. These toe clips and running shoes have to go. I need those fancy shmancy clip in models. Which ones?

Any suggestions will be much appreciated.

I know I need a new bike but this will have to do for awhile.

See you on the road.

bonj2

I've got a specalized toupe on my road bike, find it very comfy, so comfy i got another one for my mtb but it's not as good for mtbing asit's not as easy to grip, so i'll sell it you if you want. £50+fiver postage (about $100), i'll even take it back if you don't like it. pm me if you're interested.

Gloves - specialized BG gloves are apparently good. Also have you got drop handlebars? If so they give you the chance to vary your hand position a lot, take advantage of it and shift around when your hands are getting a bit stale. Could also look into cushioned bar tape.

pedals - I'd personally strongly recommend sticking to shimano. I've got ultegra 6620 on my bike and they're good.

shooter560