Peak District/Yorkshire/Oop North

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Noodley

I'm looking at possibly coming south next month to do a few rides in the Peak District, then heading up a wee bit to Yorkshire and beyond for a couple more.

I have no knowledge of the areas. On a road map it looks as if I can stay in fairly central locations to the route starts/finish without it being too much of an effort. However, it seems from traffic reports that English roads (especially true for Peak District if I were to stay in Manchester, which seems to be never ending...:wacko:) are much worse than what I am familiar with.

The rides I am thinking about start in Stalybridge, Marple and Uppermill (Peak District) and Aldbrough St John, Haydon Bridge and Danby (Oop North)

Any recommendations? Can I stay "sort of central"? Or should I just change locations and move as near to the start as I can?

Cathryn

Legendary Member
Of those areas, I know the Peaks and the Dales relatively well. I do think the roads are pretty awful in terms of surfacing (we went to the Peaks the week we got back from Austria and I felt quite insecure on them) but you do get used to it. Traffic is no worse than anywhere else in the UK, I think.

If you were in the Peaks I'd say somewhere like Bakewell or Hathersage would be a great place to base yourself.

Any use?

marinyork

Resting in suspended Animation
There are a lot of campsites around the bakewell area. The Hathersage area suffers from traffic problems to say the least at times but should be fine at the crack of dawn times on weekends you're probably talking about Noodley. For a similar mileage there are lots of places on the outskirts of Sheffield too. Those areas are outside of the Peaks. You might want to stay around Glossop or Chapel-en-le-Frith?

Ask fossyant and longers, they're pretty close to where you'd start.

Chris James

Über Member