Pendleton Drake - Storage

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Adeola

Hi all,

I recently bought a new bike. I am new to this cycling thing so didn't want to spend too much money on something.
Anyway, I bought a Pendleton Drake - yes I know it's not the best. However, I find that it rides nicely. My only concern is storage. I bought it from Halfords (yes, I know), they said that a basket and/or rack couldn't fit onto it. Surely something should be able to fit?
Any suggestions?

Hi, welcome! something like this possibly? https://www.amazon.co.uk/Ibera-Bicy...qid=1492409237&sr=8-14&keywords=seat+post+bag

There are many variations; Google 'seatpost rack', probably depends on how much stuff you want to carry etc. You could also search handlebar bags, might turn up something, or just plain old saddlebags.

Hi all,

I recently bought a new bike. I am new to this cycling thing so didn't want to spend too much money on something.
Anyway, I bought a Pendleton Drake - yes I know it's not the best. However, I find that it rides nicely. My only concern is storage. I bought it from Halfords (yes, I know), they said that a basket and/or rack couldn't fit onto it. Surely something should be able to fit?
Any suggestions?

That is not a bad bike, and there is nothing (or very little) that cannot be done!

A quick Google appears to show two threaded holes by the rear axle and a bolt on the rear tube

These are usable for a rack fitting, and any local bike shop should be able to fit a rack without any problems

Baskets are slightly different, again from the Google image, the issue would be the fact that the basket could hamper the gears and brakes

Again not a big issue, there is a company called Rixen and Kaul who make handlebar fittings that extend slightly forward allowing a basket to be fitted

Again a good local bike shop would be able to help

Contact @Pat "5mph" if you need help and do not have a local bike shop.

Last edited:

Saluki