Peterborough is great!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Andrew_Culture

Internet Marketing bod
I've been visiting my in-laws in Peterborough for nearly twenty years but have never cycled there. So today (despite a mild hangover) I decided to have a bimble around on my old mtb.

What a fantastic city for leafy safe smooth flat cycle routes!

Just as I was chiding myself for not exploring sooner I rounded a corner and found this amazing place:

5169bedc-cffc-3ae0.jpg

I had a very enjoyable five or six laps, much to the amusement and mild concern of some local kids on BMXs!

Peterborough, I'm so sorry I've been so mean about you in the past, can we start again?

Tompy

Respect for riding the BMX track!

OP
OP
Andrew_Culture

Andrew_Culture

Internet Marketing bod
Respect for riding the BMX track!

Very very slowly, my wheels were leaving the ground at what seemed like 5mph!

I tried chatting with the kids but for some reason I can't put my finger on they seemed wary of a six foot fatty in lycra on a shoot-stick mtb covered in crap band stickers *shrugs*.

Actually I offered my tool kit as they were fixing a bike, they told me they were adjusting spokes, at which point I realised they knew more than I and made my flabby mincing exit.

gbb

Legendary Member
Is that Orton Malborne Andrew ? I live nearby .
We used to take our nitro trucks there as well... Shove the kids off :stop: and burn the place up. Only joking, i think they used to like to see and hear them (crash usually)

gbb

Legendary Member
Yup, thats the one. Very popular for the local kids and they often have some quite big official competitions there in the summer.
Took me a long long time to get to like peterborough, but ride out of town in any direction, you've got nice countryside.

gbb

Legendary Member
I really wanted to see someone hack round it at speed. I'd love to see a race there.

Where is good to head for in the countryside nearby?