Piles

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Brian Stacks

As a qualified nurse I feel it is my duty to not shy away from delicate health issues. As such I would like to highlight the subject of piles after completing a 54mile ride last weekend. Does anyone else have advice and I hope this can be of use to other riders.:eek:

screenman

Legendary Member
Drapolene, I know it sounds odd. I was two days away from having mine operated on 25 years ago, out of desperation I used some of the kids nappy cream the sooothing sensation was sublime.

The OP was cancelled due to bed shortage and I still use drapolene after every motion passed ( is that the right term) Piles got better and have not come back.

I have told this too many people over the years and have heard positive results.

Katherine

Guru
Are you saying that the ride caused the piles or you already had them and 54 miles was painful?
As a nurse you probably already know about prevention. Ask your GP for some steroid cream.

Hugh Manatee

Veteran
I'm going to be frank here. I once had a dose of farmer Giles. I found the treatment almost as bad as the complaint! Fibre is your friend. A big bowl of All Bran every morning might not win you any friends for the first few days, (farting like a brewery horse reduces after 3 or 4 days) but it will help a lot. Just remember to drink more water/tea as well.

I have had them return a few times although not as bad as the first time, and the fibre treatment sees them off. I write this assuming you know exactly what is wrong and having had everything else ruled out.

Drink plenty, exercise regularly, eat a diet that keeps stools soft so you are not straining. If you are struggling to get the diet right, take a teaspoon of whole psyllium husks in a little water each day.

martint235

Dog on a bike