preparing for brighton to munich...

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

bennytheegg

Hello cyclists, I am delerious with fatigue and malnutrition, and would like to share my ramblings with you for no reason whatsoever. I have highlighted the interesting bits incase you're in a rush.

I'm an absolute newbie, quit my job a couple of weeks ago, and I've decided to cycle to Munich (via Luxembourg City) arriving in time for Oktoberfest - which I feel is as good a motivation as any!

When I say newbie, I really mean it: It's hasn't been out in about 6 months, and was only used occaissionaly. Had an undersized Decathlon racer, or "road bike", as I have now learnt. I'd never heard of "touring" until I came on this site recently, and the more I learnt, the more dubious I got about how capable my bike would be...

so I bought a new toy:

http://www.evanscycles.com/products/fuji/newest-20-2009-road-bike-ec018089

I put a better saddle on it, and then got a speedo, decent lights, toolkit etc, and some lycra (which my girlfriend thinks is hilarious - but nothing a swift elbow to the face didn't sort out - now she thinks it's great)

Did a 23 mile run the other day, which was fun, and the most I'd done in about a year. I plan to do 50 miles a day, and I was feeling that it was quite a manageable distance after I'd done the run.

And then today...

I just got back from an 80 mile bitch of a run!! took me 8 hours and it meant leaving at 6 am. 35 miles in, I started to feel it in my legs, 40 miles in I was considering getting the train back. I'd planned to do between 60 - 100 miles, but stupidly thought I'd carry on going until I got tired, rather than saving energy for the return leg. Twat.

Ended up in some village called Catsfield where I found a farm that sold fruit. It also sold Solero's. Bonus. But sadly, no crack, so obviously I smashed the place up and burnt the remains. Shame really it was a lovely farm.