Project bike

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
The Elder Son is growing fast and eyeing my commuter bike, which currently does a sterling job of being too boring and unglamorous to get stolen while I'm at college or work, and a pretty good ride when I use it.

This means that long term he or I will need another bike.

For the replacement I'd like to try an experiment; I have some experience working on bikes, mostly mountainbikes during a part time job in my local LBS, and also maintaining the family fleet, so for the next bike I'd like to build my own from old parts.

Ideally I'm aiming for a very traditional bike that I'll like but is too unique and retro to steal. With this inmind I'd like:

Steel frame. Weight isn't a great issue, but I like the narrowness and flex of steel.

18" frame, 26" Wheels. My friends describe me as 'The size of a Hobbit' which isn't quite true, but I'm not that big and an 18" MTB frame is a good size. It also keeps components like wheels the same size as other bikes in the stable which is handy for swapping wheels ot tyres in an emergency.

Drop handlebars (rare in Germany, thus unattractive to thieves, and also better for my wrist which is compaining at my straight bars)

Bottom bar friction shifters (Unatractive to thieves, cheap and compatible with whatever is hanging off the back of the frame)

Vee brakes (seems to contradict the whole 'retro' vibe but we have murderous hills and I need reliable stopping power)

I know this is theoretically possible, but I'm not experienced in the whole mountain bike / Drop bars mix. My current plan is to get an old 18" MTB frame, or used bike with a frame of the right type, and strip it down.

What should I look for though? Preliminary investigations brought this up: (German text)

http://www.ebay.de/itm/gebr-trekkin...891775?hash=item3d09e33aff:g:ZmcAAOSwRLZT5j6m