Pump Options

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

bobsinatra

Über Member
Hi

I just got a ToPeak Saddle bag (medium).

Unfortunately the hand pump I have, doesn't fit in this bag.

The pump is only 25cm, so I thought the bag would fit it in.

Do cyclists have really small pumps in their saddle bags or just C02 cannisters?

Another option is mounting the pump on my frame.

As I am a beginner, wanted to know what more experienced road bike users do.

Advice appreciated

Attachments

• 20200420_124305.jpg
    20200420_124305.jpg
    78.5 KB · Views: 3
D

Deleted member 26715

I have the same pump mounted on my downtube

vickster

Legendary Member
Put pump on frame or carry in rack bag/pannier

Many roadies just stick in their back pocket (not something I'd ever do though due to discomfort thanks to a large scar from an old spinal op)

It really doesn't matter what others do, just choose what you prefer! There are NO rules (other than obeying the laws of the land of course)

Practice using the pump at home (let all air out of tube) so if you do need to use it in the dark, and freezing cold, you know how to use it and that it works well enough to get enough air in the tube to ride (similarly, practice changing a tube at home if you're new to cycling). Brand new bike / tyres, again check you can refit them easily as some can be an utter bitch to get on and off the rims

Last edited:

mjr

Comfy armchair to one person & a plank to the next
I have a really small 20cm Giyo GP-61S telescoping pump with gauge always in my bar bag, plus often a 30cm Giyo mini-floor pump with gauge in my saddlebag (a long-flap or a bikepacking one, not a giant testicle one) or trunk bag if I'm touring or on the road bike. The 20cm will pump tyres but takes about twice as long as the 30cm and I suspect it will saw the valve off if used too often.