Pumps

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Basil.B

Guru
Being a newbie, I'm going to get a mini pump soon. But will this do, or will I have to get a track pump as well?
I was thinking of getting a Specialized mini pump, but can't find out the max psi it inflates to.
I have Continental Gp400s, 110 psi I think they have to be inflated to. A few mini pumps that I have looked up, only have a range of up to 100 psi.

accountantpete

Brexiteer
You want a track pump at home as it makes it far easier should you want to get the high pressures into the tyre - they should take up to 120psi.

I'd then get a smaller mini pump as a "get me home" aid mounted on the bike.

Mini pumps don't get anything where the claim in regards of psi. Whilst a mini pump would get you by in the short term if you had low pressure hybrid or mtb tires, since you've got high pressure road bike tires, I'd recommend getting a track pump too. The advantage of having tires pumped up to near your max ( i use conti and put 105 in the rear and 100 in the front) they'll roll better and be less susceptible to p'tures. With a track pump you'll get that easily and there'll be no guessing.

e-rider

crappy member
even if a mini claims 120psi it's almost impossible to get that and you'll be sweating buckets trying to!

a mini pump is really only useful out on the road when you get a puncture - I can get about 80psi with mine (it claims 120psi); which is enough to get home on.

For home use, buy a track pump.

som3blok3

I'm still fairly new to the forums but have been riding bikes for years. Imo mini pumps are an ok fix on the road but you can't beat a track pump at home.

I keep an 02 inflator and a spare tube on me at all times and a track pump at work (where my bike spends most of it's time) and thats all I need, threw the mini pump away last year!!

Well if you had to buy one now, and you need to carry it with you - mini pump.